Product overview CxPlanner icon
Commissioning Process software
CxPlanner icon
Quality Assurance software
CxPlanner icon
Project Management software
Pricing overview Request a demo
Blog about quality processes Commissioning 101 The book about commissioning
Help articles and information Live chat-support Contact-us

Levels of Commissioning Testing in Data Centers

Levels of Commissioning Testing in Data Centers

This article provides an overview of the five levels of commissioning testing, from Level 1 to Level 5, highlighting the specific purpose and scope of each level.
Overview of the commissioning testing of data centers by levels.

Enhancing Performance and Reliability

Commissioning ensures that all data center equipment, including servers, cooling systems, power distribution units, and backup systems, are installed and operating as intended.

Through rigorous testing and verification, commissioning identifies and rectifies any potential equipment malfunctions or deficiencies, minimizing the risk of unexpected failures and downtime.

Level 1 - Red Tag (Factory Testing)

Level 1, also known as Red Tag, involves conducting factory testing of components and systems before they are delivered to the data center site.

This level ensures that equipment, such as servers, cooling units, and power distribution systems, undergoes rigorous testing in controlled environments to verify their functionality and performance.

Level 2 - Yellow Tag (Pre-Installation)

Level 2, referred to as Yellow Tag, focuses on the delivery and pre-installation phase of components and systems at the data center site.

This level includes inspecting the delivered equipment, verifying its compliance with specifications, and preparing it for installation.

Level 3 - Green Tag - (Pre-Commissioning)

Level 3, known as Green Tag, involves pre-commissioning activities to ensure that individual components and systems are ready for operation.

This level includes functional checks, initial startup, and testing of components and systems to confirm their readiness for integration.

Level 4 - Blue Tag - (Functional Performance Testing)

Level 4, represented by Blue Tag, is the stage where comprehensive functional performance testing of individual components and systems takes place.

This level focuses on evaluating the performance and capabilities of each component and system according to predefined criteria and specifications.

Level 5 - White Tag - System Integrated Testing

Level 5, denoted by White Tag, involves testing the integrated operation and interoperability of all systems within the data center.

This level includes comprehensive testing scenarios that evaluate the overall functionality, coordination, and performance of the entire data center system.

Test structure and planning

The commissioning testing process in data centers encompasses five levels, from Level 1 to Level 5, each serving a specific purpose in ensuring the optimal performance and reliability of the facility.

By following this structured approach, data center operators can identify and address any potential issues, verify system functionality, and achieve a robust and efficient data center infrastructure.

CxPlanner, Commissioning and Data centers

CxPlanner is the industry leading commissioning platform for easy, practical and super fast commissioning. The platform is used all over the world on various data center projects.

You can read more about data center commissioning here, or book a data center demo here.

Sign up and become part of the Cx network and upgrade your skills